Dr Kay Patterson will become the Age Discrimination Commissioner while Mr Alastair McEwin will become the Disability Discrimination Commissioner. The Hon Susan Ryan AO, who is currently the Commissioner for both Age and Disability Discrimination, will step down in August.

Dr Patterson, a former Cabinet minister, senator and academic, is currently the Commissioner of the National Mental Health Commission. She is also a psychologist and advocate for older Australians.